The Wall.

It’s hard to really sum up the concept of the ‘Wall of Sound’ in words. I believe it’s truly something you kind of have to hear for yourself to be able to understand completely.

Hearing the term rang a bell for me within the lecture and I was sure that I had heard it before, even watched the clip ‘Be My Baby’ by the Ronettes in association. Although hearing the term again made me think about when I originally heard it, I know that I have always been very aware of the wall’s effects in music. You cannot help but know about it, even indirectly, as you cannot help but feel its effects. The best word I can think of to describe the wall would be ‘striking’. You can feel something coming into contact with your very core. For me, I feel as if my insides are all vibrating.

Immediately I think of Radiohead’s ‘Let Down’, of Bon Iver’s ‘Towers’, the classic Beach Boys’ ‘Good Vibrations’ (of course).

The Wall of Sound is something I will definitely be considering whilst remixing together sound projects. I personally enjoy subtle and mellow songs engaging the wall, songs that are not by any means any less striking.

Leave a Reply

