remix in time and mosaic

Today we got talking about remix being present in pottery and mosaic, and I was immediately reminded of a school excursion I took in primary school where one of the activities was to create a mosaic piece from pieces of broken plates and pottery we smashed to pieces ourselves. In my head I don’t even remember the location of the excursion, nor the room I was in. I do however very vividly remember the art itself. I loved sifting through the pile of broken tiles on the floor, searching for anything colourful to create my own art with on a square tile I was given. Once completed I gave the work to my mum.

e78ce624810fd5b598699f1849ec2491 89b56c27962705a723f527656fe1fda3 08ba1e8ae414b8539809f4c7a9baf743

I remember being so fascinated with the concept of destruction, hitting the hammer on the china and destroying complete objects until they existed only in pieces. This process of course is simple in terms of reference. ‘Recycling’. Taking something, destroying it to the point where it loses meaning in purpose and form, and re-shaping it into something completely different. I immediately got thinking, trying to put this experience into context. Where was this excursion? It’s funny. As soon as I concluded that it was some sort of museum, Hugh began talking about the remixing of religions and culture in history. Completely mirroring my thought process.

Religion of course, has metamorphosed through the ages. Most religions are after all, simple (OK, maybe not simple) hybrids of one another. Regions transform and people ‘swap’, re-inventing themselves, re-inventing religion, and re-inventing culture. During the Rule of Emperor Constantine, it was decided that the concept of the many gods the people held accountable for the universe was too ‘complicated’ a belief. In turn, it was decided that the many gods should join together into the one Christian god, that people should worship one instead of many. So Christianity became the official religion of the Roman Empire. A remix of culture. Ironically, religious art has been documented throughout times on clay-made pottery. Much of which was later smashed up;   rebirth in the form of mosaic.

b3062

Leave a Reply

